Swedish Epic Heavy Metallers Sorcerer Releases New Album “Reign of the Reaper” today!

- October 27th, 2023 –

Excellent press coverage! New visualizer for “Curse Of Medusa” live!

Photo by Marieke Verschuren

There is no stopping the mighty SORCERER and today the band will release their highly anticipated fourth album entitled ‘Reign Of The Reaper‘. Again not content with repeating themselves the album features some of the darkest, heaviest and most aggressive material the band has ever recorded, and at the same time some of the most lyrical and beautiful.

Stream the full album, check out the two videos for “Morning Star” and the title track, watch the brand new visualizer for “Curse Of Medusa” and order your copies from metalblade.com/sorcerer – where ‘Reign Of The Reaper’ is available in the following formats:

- Deluxe Digipak-CD incl. bonus-CD ‘Reverence’
- Deluxe 2-LP incl. bonus-LP ‘Reverence’ (limited to 500 copies)
- 180g black vinyl
- dark violet marbled vinyl (limited to 1.000 copies)
- smoke vinyl (limited to 300 copies)
- silver blackdust vinyl (limited to 300 copies)

Cover art by Joakim Ericsson

The press reactions for ‘Reign Of The Reaper‘ are nothing but outstanding. The album tops this month’s magazine soundchecks of Aardschok in Holland (“In fact, the fourth album of our Swedish friends is of an extremely high level from beginning to end and does not show a single weak moment. And that is more often the exception than the rule these days.”) and Rock Hard in Germany with a 9,5 out of 10 review (“Not since “Battle Hymns” – or “Into Glory Ride” for that matter – has such a goosebump atmosphere been created. The album is nothing less than the quintessential release in the intersection of epic metal, doom metal and traditional heavy metal!“).

Reign Of The Reaper” ended up on #2 in the Deaf Forever (Germany) magazine soundcheck and got praised with another 9,5/10 review (“The rhythm section combines the punch and groove of Appice/Bain with 2023 skills. Listening to the guitar leads, one wonders why Niemann/Hallgren haven’t been mentioned yet as one of the best guitar duos in the World, and Anders Engberg could gracefully replace Tony Martin in Black Sabbath. At the same time all put their skills harmoniously into the service of another flawless collection of songs. We are talking here about the level of “Nightfall” and “Headless Cross” which means timeless world class!“). In the German Metal Hammer the album ended up on position 3 in the soundcheck and got another fabulous 6/7 review (“Further examples of excellent epic doom are the moving half-ballad ‘Eternal Sleep’, the polyphonic ‘Unveiling Blasphemy’ and the varied bouncer ‘Break Of Dawn’ (what a performance by Engberg). There are no serious missteps to report on this album – Sorcerer are back with full force!“).

Renown German magazine Rocks mentions in their 9/10 review that “Reign Of The Reaper is a metal manifesto in which epic doom and meaty heavy rock unite to form wide-screen compositions richly arranged in turns.

Since their rebirth in 2010, through a string of amazing live performances, signing to Metal Blade Records and releasing three excellent metal albums, SORCERER have been firing on all cylinders with no plans of stopping for anyone.

In The Shadow Of The Inverted Cross (2015) put everything into motion; with its classic epic doom metal approach it solidified SORCERER‘s triumphant return to the scene. The follow-up, 2017′s The Crowning Of The Fire King, gave fans that extra dose of Epic they craved, while also allowing the band to begin to reform and reshape their sound and direction. It was here that SORCERER really laid the foundation on which they are still building – making heavy, melodic metal with crushing riffs, soaring vocals and hook-laden choruses.

2020 saw the band release what would be their most elaborate album to date, the concept album Lamenting Of The Innocent. This record allowed the band to test new waters with more elaborate, intricate songwriting, longer song forms and it features vocalist Anders Engberg at his absolute finest. The album was highly praised, and very well received, and has allowed the band to grace the stages of some of the most prestigious metal festivals and venues around the world.

For Reign Of The Reaper the band holed up in their home studios and wrote music all through 2022 and then once again headed to SolnaSound Recording in Stockholm, the studio owned, run and operated by Simon Johansson (Wolf, Soilwork) with Mike Wead (King Diamond) assisting, to record the drums. SORCERER likes to work with a small, tried and trusted team so therefore they once again employed the services of Ronnie Björnström (engineering/mixing/ mastering) and Jani Stefanovic (cover art for the singles & artwork booklet/packaging design); these guys have been working with the band since the first album and as per usual they delivered superbly. The striking album cover artwork was created by Swedish artist Joakim Ericsson. Conny Welén as usual handled co-production duties. Anders says: “He has been working with us since 2015 and the reunion album In The Shadow Of The Inverted Cross. Connys contribution to our sound is heard in every song; he is involved in the arrangements and plays all keyboards“. He also co-writes the vocal melodies and the foundations of some of the lyrics and on top of this he also recorded Anders’ vocals in his studio. Photographer Marieke Verschuren provided the awesome band photos as she also did on the previous album.

Reign Of The Reaper‘ is out today, October 27th on Metal Blade Records and features eight brand new tracks guaranteed to appease the appetites of metal heads from all sides of the Heavy Metal spectrum.

Track listing:
01. Morning Star
02. Reign of the Reaper
03. Thy Kingdom Will Come
04. Eternal Sleep
05. Curse of Medusa
06. Unveiling Blasphemy
07. The Underworld
08. Break of Dawn

Sorcerer line-up:
Anders Engberg – vocals
Kristian Niemann – guitars, backing vocals
Peter Hallgren – guitars, backing vocals
Justin Biggs – bass, growls
Richard Evensand – drums

Since recording the album drummer Richard Evensand has left the band and been replaced by Stefan Norgren.

Sorcerer live:
17/11/23 DE – Würzburg – Hammer of Doom Festival
10/02/24 PL – Goleniow – Rampa Kultura
20/04/24 DE – Lünen – Lükaz

Sorcerer online:

Buy iTunes Artist Page Artist News