Rivers of Nihil launches video for “The Void from Which No Sound Escapes”

- September 29th, 2021 –

Releases new album, ‘The Work’, worldwide

Album artwork by: Dan Seagrave

Last week, Rivers of Nihil released their fourth full-length, The Work, via Metal Blade Records. For a preview of the album – which MetalInjection.net calls “a work of art” (9/10) – a video for the new single, “The Void from Which No Sound Escapes” (directed by David Brodsky // mgenyc.com), can be viewed at: youtu.be/NF9J8NyA1ag

Guitarist Brody Uttley comments: “‘The Void from Which No Sound Escapes’ is a song that was put together pretty early in the writing process for ‘The Work’. It features some familiar sounds that people have come to expect from our band, while also highlighting some new sounds and textures that we’ve never experimented with before.

Purchase and stream The Work in full now at: metalblade.com/riversofnihil – where the record is available in the following formats:

- digipak-CD
- deluxe box set (hardcover box includes: CD digipak (w/ bonus track), blue w/ black & white splatter vinyl, 52-page photo book, slipmat, and exclusive download content)
- 180g black vinyl (EU exclusive)
- silver w/ blue & black splatter vinyl (EU exclusive – limited to 500 copies)
- natural clear w/ black & red splatter vinyl (EU exclusive – limited to 300 copies)
- crystal clear w/ white & turquoise splatter vinyl (Kings Road exclusive – limited to 200 copies)
- red / white melt vinyl (EMP exclusive – limited to 200 copies)
- transparent orange w/ black swirls vinyl (Eyesore exclusive – limited to 300 copies)
- silver / black marbled vinyl (Impericon exclusive – limited to 200 copies)
- aqua blue / canary yellow galaxy vinyl (US exclusive)
- white / cyan blue galaxy vinyl (US exclusive)

With The Work, Rivers of Nihil have forged further into new territory, delivering an album that is as cerebral as it is visceral, and that covers a staggering sonic range, definitively placing them in a category of their own.

For those who loved ‘Where Owls Know My Name’, this album’s bursts of syrupy saxophone (‘The Tower’, ‘Episode’) and detours into dreamy, Moog-embellished shoegaze (the utterly sublime ‘Maybe One Day’) may not come as a massive surprise, but the sophisticated and elegant way that all those new elements have been assimilated into the Rivers of Nihil sound is genuinely impressive.” – Blabbermouth.net

“‘The Work’ is indeed…the band’s best work yet, one which serves both as the ending of one era and, perhaps, the beginning of another.” – NoCleanSinging.com

Cerebral, emotional and challenging, ‘The Work’ is a beautifully schizophrenic piece of art from a band unafraid to smash through boundaries and set their own rules.” – GhostCultMag.com

An invigorating genre-agnostic blend of death metal, prog, electronic, jazz inflections, even some arena rock riffage, each new listen brings up undiscovered pleasures.” – MetalSucks.net

‘Ending on ‘Terrestria IV: Work,’ Rivers of Nihil leave you off on an eleven minute and thirty second slam dunk of a song. It’s technical. It’s heavy. It’s cathartic. It’s gripping. It’s an embodiment of what ‘The Work’ is.” – NewNoiseMagazine.com

The Work track-listing
1. The Tower (Theme from “The Work”)
2. Dreaming Black Clockwork
3. Wait
4. Focus
5. Clean
6. The Void from Which No Sound Escapes
7. MORE?
8. Tower 2
9. Episode
10. Maybe One Day
11. Terrestria IV: Work

Rivers of Nihil is currently out on the road with The Black Dahlia Murder, After The Burial, Carnifex, and Undeath for an extensive North American tour. Get your ticket now at: nightshiftmerch.com

“Up From The Sewer Tour 2021″
w/ The Black Dahlia Murder, After The Burial, Carnifex, Rivers of Nihil, Undeath
Sept. 29 – Greensboro, NC @ Arizona Pete’s
Sept. 30 – Baltimore, MD @ Baltimore Soundstage
Oct. 1 – Columbus, OH @ King of Clubs
Oct. 2 – Pittsburgh, PA @ Roxian Theater
Oct. 3 – Cleveland, OH @ House of Blues
Oct. 5 – Detroit, MI @ St. Andrews Hall
Oct. 6 – Toronto, ON @ Phoenix Concert Hall
Oct. 7 – Montreal, QC @ Club Soda
Oct. 8 – Worcester, MA @ The Palladium
Oct. 9 – Sayreville, NJ @ Starland Ballroom
Oct. 10 – New York, NY @ Irving Plaza

Photo credit: Mike Truehart

Rivers of Nihil line-up:
Jake Dieffenbach – lead vocals
Brody Uttley – lead guitar, keyboards
Adam Biggs – bass, backing vocals
Jon Topore – rhythm guitar
Jared Klein – drums, backing vocals

Rivers of Nihil online:

Buy iTunes Artist Page Artist News