SKULL PIT feat. Mem of EXUMER and Tatsu of CHURCH OF MISERY releases new single ‘Marauders’!

- 24/10/18 –

Debut album ‘Skull Pit’ November 16th!

On November 16th Metal Blade Records will finally release ‘Skull Pit‘, the debut album by American/Japanese collaboration SKULL PIT!

SKULL PIT is a tale of two musicians from opposite sides of the heavy metal spectrum and the planet. Tatsu, hailing from Tokyo/Japan, bassist and mastermind behind the internationally acclaimed Doom outfit CHURCH OF MISERY. And Mem, from New York/USA, singer and frontman of German Thrash pioneers EXUMER!

For another preview of ‘Skull Pit‘ surf over to you to check out the brand new single ‘Marauders’! Comments SKULL PIT vocalist Mem: “Think about the first time you heard ‘ACE OF SPADES’, or the ferocity of early Tank records and how you felt when those songs hit you like a ton of bricks. That’s what we went for when we wrote that song. Marauding for your ears, hearts and soul.

Afterwards point your browser at, where you can watch the video for the first single ‘Fire Breather’! Make sure to check out the pre-order section as well, ‘Skull Pit‘ is available in the following formats:

– ltd. Digipak-CD
– 180 g black vinyl
– silver/black marbled vinyl (ltd. 200 – EU-exclusive)
– red/black marbled vinyl (ltd. 200 – EU-exclusive)
– gold/black splattered vinyl (ltd. 100 – EU-exclusive)
– gold/silver splattered vinyl (ltd. 100 – US-exclusive)

The two veterans endeavored to combine their favorite elements of bands like Motorhead along with the countless outfits of the New Wave of British Heavy Metal into one blistering and highly energetic nine-track album.

The songs on SKULL PIT‘s debut are a clear departure from what Exumer or Church Of Misery usually sounds like. Stepping away from Exumer‘s lighting fast rhythms and Church of Misery‘s slowed down Iommi inspired riffs, SKULL PIT creates melodies in the vein of 70s hard rock and 80s NWOBHM with Lemmy’s punk attitude.

Mixed in Tokyo by O-mi Kihara, ‘Skull Pit‘ was recorded in New York and Japan during Exumer‘s and Church of Misery‘s time off from playing live around the globe. The result is a free flowin album that switches effortlessly between genres and boundaries but always with the intent to deliver a razor sharp riff or a memorable hook.

SKULL PIT didn’t shy away from further expanding their all-inclusive attitude when it came to choose and record a cover song as a bonus track; Rose Tattoo’s “All the Lessons”. The song features Brian “Mitts” Daniels (ex Madball), who produced Mem’s vocal tracks in New York.

Skull Pit track-listing
01. Double Cross
02. Roller
03. Fire Breather
04. Year Of The Dog
05. Soul Raiders
06. Blood Titan
07. Marauders
08. The Line
09. Wolf Spirit
10. All The Lessons (Bonus Track)