English NWOBHM legends SATAN enters official German charts with new album ‘Cruel Magic’ on position 28!

- 20/09/18 –

September 7th saw the long-anticipated release of the latest SATAN album ‘Cruel Magic‘!

The NWOBHM legends can now announce they have reached a sensational position 28 on the official German album charts with this longplayer! Comments the band: “It’s pretty insane. Once you realize it’s not some practical joke you think well why not? We’ve been biding our time ready for that jump to the next level and we are in the form of our lives. We’d like to express our colossal gratitude to our followers who’ve made this happen. And also to Metal Blade for taking a chance on us!

Surf over to metalblade.com/satan, where you can watch the videos for the first three singles ‘Death Knell For A King’, ‘The Doomsday Clock’ and ‘Into The Mouth Of Eternity’! ‘Cruel Magic‘ is available in the following formats:

– ltd. Boxset (incl. Digipak-CD, excl. bonus-CD, excl. dead gold-marbled vinyl w/excl. bonus-LP, 75×75 cm flag, circular 12″ back patch, five A4 art prints, A4 photo card, numbered certificate)
– Digipak-CD (EU exclusive)
– CD
– 180g black vinyl
– clear vinyl (limited to 500 copies – EU exclusive)
– red/black-marbled vinyl (limited to 300 copies – EU exclusive)
– water blue-marbled vinyl (limited to 200 copies – EU exclusive)
– steel grey-marbled vinyl (limited to 300 copies – US exclusive)
– yellow/ochre-marbled vinyl (limited to 200 copies – US exclusive)

While standard bearers of the NWOBHM movement and responsible for ’83′s seminal ‘Court In the Act‘ and ’87′s ‘Suspended Sentence‘, with their tentative new album SATAN make it abundantly clear that in 2018 they are not interested in simply capitalizing on past glories. Comprised of 10 tracks of searing metal, it is blatantly and profoundly the work of the Newcastle-upon-Tyne natives at their very best, infusing their signature sound with a more raw, wild and spontaneous vibe than they showcased on 2015′s mighty ‘Atom By Atom‘, in the process displaying more passion and energy than slews of bands half their age.

Tracking the album at First Avenue Studio, they further demonstrated their trust and rapport with past collaborators, recruiting engineer Dave Curle and Dario Mollo to handle the mix, letting them handle the technical side of things so the quintet could focus all of their energies on giving the best performances. Confident in the songs they had written and how they wanted them to sound made the process a very easy one, walking out of the studio with a record of which they are understandably proud, and will reign supreme in the speakers and headphones of metalheads the world over when it drops in September. “We truly feel we’ve got it 100% right this time, the balance between considered content and reckless performance. We always break loose on stage so why not on record?

SATAN live:
31/10/18 DE – Hamburg – Markthalle w/ROSS THE BOSS/BULLET/PORTRAIT
01/11/18 DE – Bochum – Matrix
02/11/18 DE – Mannheim – 7er Club
03/11/18 t.b.a.
14/12/18 GR – Athens – Into Battle Festival Vol. 2
26/04/19 DE – Lauda-Königshofen – Keep It True Festival

SATAN line-up:
Brian Ross – Vocals
Russ Tippins – Guitars
Steve Ramsey – Guitars
Graeme English – Bass
Sean Taylor – Drums

artwork by Eliran Kantor