Incapacity


Myspace


Anders Edlund: Bass
Robert “Skoog” Ivarsson: Guitar
Christian Älvestam: Guitar
Henrik Schönström: Drums
Andreas “Drette” Axelsson: Vocals

INCAPACITY wurden im Spätsommer 2002 von Anders Edlund (SOLAR DAWN) gegründet, der seinem langjährigen Kumpel Robert “Skoog” Ivarsson (PAN-THY-MONIUM, ASHES, WOUNDED KNEE, FETT) vorschlug, eine Death/Thrash Metal Band der alten Schule zu starten. Robert sagte sofort zu und stellte sich Anders als Gitarrist zur Verfügung. Christian Älvestam (UNMOORED, SOLAR DAWN, TORCHBEARER) war der nächste Musiker, der für die Idee begeistert werden konnte, und stieg als zweiter Gitarrist neben Robert ein. Anders selbst übernahm den Bass. Bald wurde klar, dass das Finden eines geeigneten Schlagwerkers die schwerste Aufgabe sein würde, die die neu gegründeten INCAPACITY zu meistern hatten. Kalle Andersson (WARCOLLAPSE, ex-THE GREAT DECEIVER, ex-SKITSYSTEM) spielte eine Zeit lang in der Band, der Funke wollte aber nicht so richtig überspringen, also wurde er von Henrik Schönström (UNMOORED, SOLAR DAWN, TORCHBEARER) ersetzt. Als Sänger mischte Roberth Karlsson (EDGE OF SANITY, PAN-THY-MONIUM, DARKIFIED, FACEBREAKER) für kurze Zeit in der Truppe mit, entschied sich aber letztendlich für seine Hauptband FACEBREAKER. Sein Kollege Andreas “Drette” Axelsson (EDGE OF SANITY, THE DONTCARES, INFESTDEAD, THE DEADBEATS, ex-MARDUK) übernahm schliesslich die Vocals. Mit einem festen Line-Up im Rücken rief Anders den Cold Records-Labelchef Omer an, um sich zu bewerben, der die Band auch prompt unter Vertrag nahm. Die nächsten 5 – 6 Monate verbrachte die Band damit, intensiv zu proben.

Im Dezember 2002 nahm die Band in den Black Lounge Studios ihr Debütalbum „Chaos Complete” auf, welches von Jonas Kjellgren (CARNAL FORGE, CENTINEX, DELLAMORTE, WORLD BELOW) produziert wurde. Das Material auf der Langrille klang wie eine Mischung aus Old School Death Metal und New School Thrash Metal, selbstverständlich angereichert mit einem gehörigen Schuss Schwedensound. Das Album erschien weltweit am 24. Juli 2003.

„Chaos Complete” erntete begeisterte Reaktionen seitens der Presse und Fans, und der Name INCAPACITY wurde in kürzester Zeit in der gesamten Metal-Welt hoch gehandelt. Schon sehr bald wurde klar, dass es sich nicht um eine „All-Star” Band handelte, die nach nur einem Album wieder in Vergessenheit geraten würde. Im Februar 2004 begab sich die Band in die Soundlab Studios (NASUM, KRIGSHOT, THE PROJECT HATE, DISFEAR, ROTTEN SOUND) im schwedischen Örebro, um mit dem Produzenten Mieszko Talarzcyk (NASUM, KRIGSHOT, GENOCIDE SUPERSTARS) den „Chaos Complete”-Nachfolger „9th Order Extinct“ einzuprügeln. Das Endresultat sind zehn schnelle, brutale und aggressive Songs mit einer Produktion, die irgendwo zwischen TESTAMENTs „The Gathering” und „Possessed 13” von THE CROWN angesiedlet werden könnte. Das Mastering wurde von Peter In De Betou (der über die Jahre hinweg mit Bands wie DIMMU BORGIR, DISMEMBER, GRAVE, EDGE OF SANITY und HYPOCRISY zusammen arbeitete) in dessen Tailor Made Studio in Stockholm erledigt. Das Artwork stammt von Pär Johansson, der auch schon Cover von UNMOORED, THY PRIMORDIAL, IMPERIAL DOMAIN, TORCHBEARER, u.v.a. anfertigte (http://www.pjillustrations.com).

INCAPACITY wollen weiterhin hochklassigen Death/Thrash Metal produzieren und so oft wie möglich in allen nur erdenklichen Orten live auftreten. Gebt acht!

Incapacity


Myspace


Anders Edlund: Bass
Robert “Skoog” Ivarsson: Guitar
Christian Älvestam: Guitar
Henrik Schönström: Drums
Andreas “Drette” Axelsson: Vocals

Incapacity was formed in the late summer of 2002 by Anders Edlund (SOLAR DAWN), who approached his long-time friend Robert “Skoog” Ivarsson (PAN-THY-MONIUM, ASHES, WOUNDED KNEE, FETT) with the idea of starting an old-school-sounding thrash/death metal band. When asked to join on guitar, Robert accepted immediately. Christian Älvestam (UNMOORED, SOLAR DAWN, TORCHBEARER) was the next member to be recruited, set to handle the guitar alongside Robert. Anders himself took on the bass duties. It was soon clear that finding a suitable drummer would be their most difficult task. Kalle Andersson (WARCOLLAPSE, ex-THE GREAT DECEIVER, ex-SKITSYSTEM) stayed in the band for some time, but since it didn’t work out, the position was finally filled by Henrik Schönström (UNMOORED, SOLAR DAWN, TORCHBEARER). As for vocals, Roberth Karlsson (EDGE OF SANITY, PAN-THY-MONIUM, DARKIFIED, FACEBREAKER) joined the band for a short while, but since he felt that he wanted to give his main band FACEBREAKER his full attention, the vocal duties were passed on to his colleague Andreas “Drette” Axelsson (EDGE OF SANITY, THE DONTCARES, INFESTDEAD, THE DEADBEATS, ex-MARDUK). Finally with a stable line-up, Anders called Omer from Cold Records asking if he was interested in signing this act, which he was, so a contract was inked. The band rehearsed several weeks in a period of 5 to 6 months.

In December 2002, the debut-album, entitled “Chaos Complete”, was recorded and mixed at Black Lounge studios, together with producer Jonas Kjellgren (CARNAL FORGE, CENTINEX, DELLAMORTE, WORLD BELOW). Material-wise, this album is mixtures of old-school death metal and new school thrash metal, all arranged and performed in a very Swedish way. The album was released worldwide on the 24th of July 2003.

Chaos Complete received great responses worldwide and the name Incapacity has become well known in the metal world since the album release. Most people soon realized this wasn’t an all-star band gathered to release one album and then fall into oblivion. In February 2004, the band entered Soundlab Studios (NASUM, KRIGSHOT, THE PROJECT HATE, DISFEAR, ROTTEN SOUND) in Örebro, Sweden, to record the follow-up to “Chaos Complete”, entitled “9th Order Extinct”, together with producer Mieszko Talarzcyk (NASUM, KRIGSHOT, GENOCIDE SUPERSTARS). The final product is an album consisting of ten fast, brutal and aggressive songs, with a production that can be placed in between TESTAMENT’s “The Gathering” and THE CROWNS’s “Possesed 13″. Ninth Order Extinct was mastered by Peter In De Betou (who has done work throughout the years for DIMMU BORGIR, DISMEMBER, GRAVE, EDGE OF SANITY and HYPOCRISY, to name a few), in his Tailor Made Production-studio, in Stockholm, Sweden. The artwork was created by Pär Johansson, who has worked for bands such as UNMOORED, THY PRIMORDIAL, IMPERIAL DOMAIN, TORCHBEARER, etc.