Allegaeon


Buy Facebook Twitter Artist News


Ezra Haynes: Vocals
Michael Stancel: Guitar
Greg Burgess: Guitar
Corey Archuleta: Bass
Brandon Park: Drums

Mit Veränderungen gehen neue Ideen einher, und “Elements of The Infinite” ist der Gipfel einer Fülle neuer Ideen bei Allegaeon. Es handelt sich im Grunde um ein gereiztes Album, mit dem die Band etwas beweisen will, und ist ein großer Schritt aus dem Schatten seines Vorgängers hinaus. Die Band befindet sich mit zwei neuen Mitgliedern an einem völlig anderen Punkt im Vergleich zu allem, was sie bisher gemacht hat, und das spiegelt sich in der Musik wieder. Gitarrist Greg Burgess bemerkt dazu: “Das Material bleibt unseren Wurzeln treu, erkundet aber auch Neuland. Wir hatten die Gelegenheit, Dinge umzusetzen, die wir von Anfang an tun wollten, aber bis jetzt nicht konnten. Die Platte macht uns sehr stolz und erfüllt hoffentlich auch die Erwartungen unserer Fans.”

Nach einer gewissen Zeit ohne Schlagzeuger rekrutierte die Band Brandon Park 2013 als permanentes Mitglied. Zudem führte der Weggang von Ryan Glisan zur Aufnahme von Gitarrist Michael Stancel. Die neu aufgestellten Allegaeon sind frisch, hungrig und bereit, ihren Platz auf dem Olymp des virtuosen, technischen Death Metal zu behaupten.

Elements of The Infinite” wurde von Dave Otero im Flatline Audio in Colorado von Februarl bis April 2014 aufgenommen, abgemischt und gemastert. Otero hat sich in den vergangenen Jahren als Produzent außerordentlich hervorgetan, unter anderem mit den jüngsten Alben von Cattle Decapitation, Cephalic Carnage und anderen. Oteros Arbeit mit Allegaeon im Verbund mit dem neuen Material der Musiker hat der Band zu ihrem am stringentesten umgesetzten und bislang reifsten Werk verholfen. Musikalisch erwarten die Fans Arrangements mit entschiedener Tiefe in Sachen Sound, wobei die Orchestrierung von Gitarrist Greg Burgess und Joe Ferris (monumentalaudio.net) übernommen wurde.

Textlich schöpft die Band aus den Vollen ihrer Weltraum- und Wissenschafts-Thematik. Sänger Ezra Haynes diskutiert in seinen Lyrics sowohl theoretische als auch praktische Fragen der Wissenschaft. Wer “Cosmos” mit Neil de Grasse Tyson kennt, begreift gewiss auch die Anspielungen auf Dyson-Sphären, die hohe Wahrscheinlichkeit von außerirdischem Leben im Universum, den schlussendlichen Exodus der Menschheit von der Erde, den Goldenen Schnitt und viel mehr. Die Texte zu analysieren ist ebenso spannend wie die komplexe, fordernde Musik an sich.

Sänger Ezra Haynes fügt hinzu: “Ich darf ehrlich behaupten, dass Allegaeon eine neue Band sind. Mit Brandon Park und Michael Stancel haben wir das bissigste Album unserer Bandgeschichte geschaffen. Es ist schneller und finsterer, greift weiter in die Tiefe als alles, was wir bislang getan haben. So aufgeregt wie jetzt war ich noch nie vor der Veröffentlichung eines Albums. Ich glaube wirklich, dass sich die Hörer freuen werden, und wir selbst können kaum erwarten, auf Tour zu gehen, um der Welt diese Songs zu zeigen.”

Elements of The Infinite” erscheint am 24. Juni 2014 in Nordamerika, am 20. Juni in Deutschland, Österreich und der Schweiz sowie am 23. Juni in Großbritannien und Resteuropa .

Bandgeschichte:
Allegaeon wurden 2008 von Gitarrist Ryan Glisan gegründet. Bald darauf schloss sich der klassisch ausgebildete Gitarrist Greg Burgess an, gefolgt von Sänger Ezra Haynes und Bassist Corey Archuleta. Gemeinsam wurden sie als Colorado Kings of Melodic Metal bekannt. Im gleichen Jahr veröffentlichten Allegaeon ihre selbstbetitelte 4-Song-EP und erregten rasch die Aufmerksamkeit sowohl regionaler als auch nationaler und internationaler Metal-Fans, nicht zu vergessen jene von Metal Blade Records. 2009, kaum ein Jahr nach diesem Einstand, unterschrieben Allegaeon dort und traten ihren Weg in die ständig größer werdende Metal-Öffentlichkeit an.

2010 erschien Allegaeons Debütalbum Fragments of Form and Function (FOFAF), aufgenommen in Denver im Flatline Audio mit Dave Otero (Cephalic Carnage, Cattle Decapitation, Vale of Pnath) und veröffentlicht am 20. Juli. Bis 2011 bekamen Allegaeon mit mehreren Singles reichlich Airplay im Radio, etwa bei der Sirius Liquid Metal Station, wo sie zu den 20 am häufigsten gespielten Bands zählten. Metalstorm.net hält FOFAF für das viertbeste Death-Metal-Album aller Zeiten (ausgehend von den Bewertungsstandards der Website). FOFAF wurde allerorts hoch bewertet und katapultierte die Gruppe aus der Unbekanntheit in die hohe Riege der neuen Metal-Bands.

Im Januar 2012 spielte die Band in den Lambesis Studios in Südkalifornien mit Daniel Castleman (As I Lay Dying, Impending Doom, Carnifex, Winds of Plague) ihre zweite Scheibe Formshifter.ein.






See Tour Dates

Allegaeon


Buy Facebook Twitter Artist News


Ezra Haynes: Vocals
Michael Stancel: Guitar
Greg Burgess: Guitar
Corey Archuleta: Bass
Brandon Park: Drums

With change comes new ideas, and “Elements of The Infinite” is the culmination of a flurry of new ideas within Allegaeon. It is, in essence, an album with a chip on its shoulder, a point to prove, and a big step out of the shadows from its predecessor. With two new members, the band is in a very different place than they’ve ever been, and the music reflects that. Guitarist Greg Burgess adds: “It is material that stays true to where we’ve come from, while exploring some new territory. We’ve had the opportunity to do some things we’ve wanted to from the beginning, but haven’t been able to until now. We’re very proud of this record, hopefully it will live up to what our fans have come to expect from us.”

After having spent some time in drummer-limbo, the band enlisted Brandon Park as their new permanent drummer in 2013. Additionally, the departure of Ryan Glisan led to the addition of guitarist Michael Stancel. The re-tooled Allegaeon line up is fresh, hungry, and ready to solidify the band’s place within the elite, virtuoso-filled world of extreme technical death metal.

Elements of the Infinite” was recorded, mixed and mastered by Dave Otero at Flatline Audio in Colorado Feb-April 2014. Otero’s work has been more prominent in the last few years – some fans may have heard his work on the latest Cattle Decapitation album, Cephalic Carnage, and more. Otero’s efforts here, along with the band’s new material, has led to Allegaeon‘s most realized and mature release to date. Musically, fans will be treated to orchestrations that provide significant depth to the sound. The orchestrations were composed by guitarist Greg Burgess along with Joe Ferris (monumentalaudio.net).

Lyrically, the band has gone full-tilt with their space and science themes. Vocalist Ezra Haynes has penned songs that discuss both theoretical and practical science topics. Anyone who may be watching “Cosmos” with Neil de Grasse Tyson will surely catch references to Dyson Spheres, the high probability of alien life in the universe, humanity’s eventual exodus from earth, the golden ratio, and much more. It’s as fun dissecting the lyrics as it is the complex and challenging music.

Vocalist Ezra Haynes adds: “I can honestly say that Allegaeon is revamped. With the addition on Brandon Park and Michael Stancel we have created the most aggressive album in Allegaeon history. It’s faster, darker and carries more depth than anything we’ve done before. This is the most excited I’ve been about releasing an album. I really do think the listeners will be pleased and we are eager to get out there on the road and present it to the world.”

Elements of the Infinite” will be released on June 24, 2014 in North America, and June 23 in the UK/Europe and June 20 in the European G|A|S territories.

History:
Allegaeon was formed in 2008 by founding member and guitar player Ryan Glisan. Soon thereafter, classically trained guitarist Greg Burgess joined, followed by vocalist Ezra Haynes and bassist Corey Archuleta to round out and form what people have come to know now as the Colorado Kings of Melodic Metal. In 2008, Allegaeon released their 4 song, self-titled EP and quickly gained attention from the local, national and international metal fans as well as Metal Blade records. In 2009, barely a year after releasing their first EP to the world, Allegaeon agreed to a deal with Metal Blade Records and thus began their relationship and Allegaeon’s entry into the ever expanding metal community.

2010 brought Allegaeon’s debut album Fragments of Form and Function (FOFAF). FOFAF was recorded in Denver at Flatline Audio with Dave Otero (Cephalic Carnage, Cattle Decapitation, Vale of Pnath) and was released on July 20th, 2010. Between 2010-2011, Allegaeon had a slew of singles that played in such heavy rotation on the Sirius Liquid Metal Station that they cracked the stations top 20 most played bands list. Metalstorm.net lists Allegaeon’s debut album, FOFAF, as the #4 rated death metal album of all time (by the websites rating standards). FOFAF was critically acclaimed by many and catapulted the band out of obscurity and into the ranks of metals elite new bands.

In January 2012, the band traveled to Southern California and entered Lambesis Studios with Daniel Castleman (As I Lay Dying, Impending Doom, Carnifex, Winds of Plague) to begin work on their follow up record titled Formshifter.






See Tour Dates